News Page


Grief and Bereavement

Although reactions to loss are similar, no loss is the same, and each individual may experience grief differently.

Our grief is as unique as our losses!

Stages of the Grief Process:

Shock-Denial Period: There may be difficulties in accepting the loss and realizing the reality of death. People may be dull, confused, and unresponsive during this period.

Anger Period: In this period of intense sadness and longing, the pain of the loss may increase gradually. Feelings of anger, restlessness, fear, guilt-seeking, and questions such as "why me" can be seen in this process.

Bargaining Period: The person is trying to bargain with  God or others for miracles to happen to prevent or reduce loss. At this stage, where intense feelings of helplessness and hopelessness are seen, Some of the sentences, such as "My God, send him back to me, I will do anything you want.", "My God, let this be a dream." can be used.

Depression Period: It is the period that the person fully accepts the truth and experiences pain intensely. Reluctance, loss of interest, and fatigue can be seen. The person may blame themselves for their behaviors or did not do related to their loss.

Acceptance: At this stage, the certainty of the loss and its consequences are accepted by the person. The person begins to rebuild his life with his/her longing for his/her loss.

(In people ho experience loss, these stages can be seen in different orders, and some may not.)

Common Reactions in the Grief Process:

  • Unbelieve the loss - denial
  • Shock-freezing
  • Crying - inability to cry
  • Self-criticism, guilt, regret (what they did or didn't do)
  • Anger, disappointment, despair, sadness, longing
  • Feelings of hopelessness, pessimism, worthlessness, emptiness
  • Thinking about the deceased and death, and recurrent dreams and nightmares
  • Loss of interest and desire
  • Bodily symptoms such as fatigue, body aches
  • Gastrointestinal problems, Eating-sleep disorder

Losing is a very painful and challenging process.

Allow the surviving person to grieve, cry, and experience other emotions.

If the bereavement process is prolonged and disrupts the person's daily life, it is appropriate to consult a mental health professional will be.